Overwhelmed waiting for surgery

Firstly, thank you to all of you who post on here. This is my first time posting but I have been reading for a while and have found it so reassuring and helpful!

I’ve been diagnosed with 1a2 with CGIN and CIN3 following two LLETZ, the last being done under GA and they took a pretty large section away. I am scheduled to have an abdominal (open) radical tracalectomy including lymph nodes in around 3 weeks time (still waiting on exact date). I’m 40 with no children, but have 2 embryos ‘on ice’.

I thought I was handling myself ok, but am now getting so overwhelmed with talking, planning, worrying about the procedure (risk of hysterectomy there and then if deemed needed), results, recovery, reassuring family. I’m trying to prep so I am no burden on the family (partner and young dog, and parents who I plan to stay with for peace and quiet for a few days post op but they are of an age where I should be caring for them!!).

Any tips on how to better handle myself and stay calm would be greatly appreciated! I am trying self care, I have reflexology booked for Monday, but I feel like crawling into a cave until op day!

Hi lovely, I was just about to mention some relaxation tips but I see your post was from August…how are you feeling? Hope you’re well :heartpulse:

1 Like

Yes how are you doing ? I’m post op 12 days after having a full hysterectomy, the more I read on here the more it’s scaring me with what results are coming back! I’ve been wearing compression socks all this time (to all the questions why are you still wearing those!) I hope I’m doing the right thing?

1 Like

Thanks both for your replies! I’m three weeks post op today. I bottled up the emotions until the day before the operation when I had a bit of an explosion of tears, which was probably long overdue. I was more nervous than expected waiting to go in on d day, but found a lovely lady to chat to as a distraction. The hospital staff were brilliant in keeping me calm too.