Normal smear then biopsys...confused

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie. I had an abnormal result 7 years ago and had LLETZ treatment and have been clear ever since....well until my smear in February. I got a normal smear result but positive for HPV (my first hpv test) so I was sent to colposcoy.  Waited 8 weeks for my appointment so figured it wasn't urgent as they were not rushing to see me. Got into colposcoy and she explained the new hpv screening to me......anyway upon inspection I have a large suspect area...I had biopsys and she's explained if I need treatment it will be under general anesthetic as the area is so large......I am confused as to why my smear result was normal if I have a large suspect area??? Has anyone else experienced this? 

Thankyou ladies xxx

Hi,

I'm the same as you. Before my last LLETZ my smears were only "borderline"... then clear smears until they started testing for hpv.. which cam back positive two years ago. they identified an area of CIN 1... refferred back to normal smears... last year had a clear smear (no hpv test). This year Feb clear smear agian but hpv can back positive - colposcopy next Tuesday.

I think some of us just don't have many abnormal cells on the surface.. or they don't "look" that abnormal under the microscope. I really don think the hpv testing could really help people like us. I was going to pay privately for hpv testing anyway if they just did a regular smear anyway... as I totally don't trust the regular smears without hpv test.

Space xxx