Noone to talk to after Lletz

Hi guys, 

I just had my first smear test after turning 25. Came back with questioned high abnormality. I didn't want to wait for the public system so I was seen 2 days later in a private hospital in Dublin. Had two punch biopsies taken. 5 weeks later i'm back getting my Lletz treatment. The two biopsies came back CIN II and CIN III. I knew everything there was to know about the Lletz procedure before I went in so was extremely calm.

I'm a nurse so quite used to the overall system of these procedures. I stupidly felt like this meant I was immune to worry. Then when it got to the actual procedure I got extremely tense, my Dr, who is absolutely lovely and very calming told me he could tell I was trying to convince myself I was fine. The worst part of the whole procedure was the shaking from the local Anaesthetic, I actually found it much easier than the biopsies. 

Since i've gotten home i've become strangely emotional about it. Last night I burst into tears 3 or 4 times and I don't even know why. He told me i'd probably have no pain but sitting is still too uncomfortable. I'm really glad to have found this site because my mom worries too much to talk to her about all of this, and most of my friends get irritated and just say 'You'll be fine, don't worry". 

He said he feels there is clear borders and that he got everything but there's still that slight worry it'll come back cancerous. Fingers crossed that it'll be good news on friday. I'm so grateful for this site and being able to read peoples own stories. It can be very lonely when there's few people you can talk to, this makes me feel a lot less isolated. 

Hi there! Hope your feeling a little better just for posting on here - its certainly helped me. I think sometimes we try too hard to be ok and it just catches up with us (well that seems to be whats happenig to me). Chin up and best of luck for Friday:-)

Hi Hun,

Sorry to hear your feeling abit down.