My colposcopy & LLETZ experience

Hi guys, newbie here. Just thought I'd share my experience since I know I did a LOT of googling prior and I just want to reassure anyone worried about the procedure who may stumble upon this via the great hypochondria-inducing search engine itself!

So I'm 26, had my first smear 16 June, the results by letter about 4 days later (high grade dyskaryosis), and my colp appointment through the post one week ago for today, 1st Jul - so speedy!

Wasn't too worried about my results initially. My main worry, as terrible as it sounds, was the thought of having treatment and not being able to exercise, bathe or have sex for 4-6 weeks... what else is there to do?! But I did a load of googling which scared me, and when I called the hospital to try reschedule, they advised me not to as they needed to see me 'urgently' -- to me, this was basically a cancer diagnosis and I've been a nervous wreck for the last 5 days after that, crying every night, super irritable and just generally not being with it.

I decided to just go today and get it over with, went on my own as just thought it'd be like a smear! I thought it'd just be the colp but they were immediately talking about the treatment I'd be having today just due to my abnormalities being severe - I started crying at this point dunno why, think the stress just overcame me.

So first they made me do a urine pregnancy test, then I undressed and got up on the weird little chair thing, like a short bed where your legs are up in cushioned rests. There were 2 nurses who chatted to me throughout, the doctor who performed the procedure, and the main consultant guy who mostly just observed what was on the screen. All were REALLY nice and reassuring when I started crying, always asking if I was okay, and not telling me too much about what was going on. The screen was in view so could've looked if I'd wanted but felt it wouldn't be a good idea with my nerves!