MRI results vs PET Scan results

I have a MRI lumbar spine for my back pain post treat cc 2b. Per MRI results , it's says I have lesion on L 2 "probable osseus metastatic" but My Pet scan is neagatine says no metastatic disease .... thinking what it could be... bit scare n nervous ... having bx on lumbar spine next week ... doc wants to make sure ... is it possible some cancernot to show on pet scan ? please share if anyone gone thru or heard... thank you all n hope you all doing well.... lots of love n hugs to all

diagnosed cc 04/2017

finised tx - 25 ext radiaton, 6 chemo, and 4 brachy completed on 7/5/2017 

Hi kam

i would say a pet scan is more accurate in the findings then the MRI as it is on a cellular level. Did you ever have an issue before cc with your back? It is possible that the radiation has caused an issue with your spine. It would all depend on how you were lined up for treatment and where exactly the radiation had go through for a direct hit on your tumour. The brachy could also cause this damage. 

Goof that your dr is being cautious. 

Try to stay positive. Keep your mind busy. I hope all goes well   

Big hugs

Hi,

I totally agree with lolli888 , as gar as i know petscan is more accurate than mri. Your doctor is just being cautious i think.

Hope it all goes well , keep us posted.

Idyll

Hi Kam

My 1 year MRI showed tumours in my liver, which were considered very likely to be metastatic cancer. This was confirmed by an ultrasound. After a liver biopsy proved inconclusive I was given a Pet/CT scan. This confirmed there was no cancer present and they did another biopsy to triple check. All was well, and I am still here 3 and a half years later. So definitely in my experience the PET scan is the much more accurate. I researched (as you do, but shouldn’t!) and false negative pet scans are extremely rare. So fingers crossed this is the case for you too, definitely sounds like it.

Take care
Ali