LLETZ - Recovery Period

Hi all,

I only found this forum a few weeks ago, but it’s been a great source of comfort for me and I’ve felt less alone whilst on my own journey through a colposcopy and biopsy. It’s been so positive to read all the encouraging posts, learn more, and read how people have supported each other :relaxed:

I found out from the result of my recent biopsy that I have CIN-2 and need the LLETZ procedure. I’m a bit worried about the recovery period following this procedure - is anyone able to describe how it felt for them, and how it impacted them in the following days and weeks?

Thank you, sending lots of love and strength!

Hi I had the lettz back in June dr/nurses were super nice talked me through it all. Was in and out in half hour had some bleeding and cramping for a few weeks, seems to bleed then settle then get a little worse again heard it can be totally normal.
I’m no expert I have been on Google and these sites religiously unfortunately I have more cells so more treatment is needed likely just waiting on biopsy results.
You’re not alone hope it goes well. Ps I also could smell the burning skin :sweat_smile::laughing: one love :heartpulse:

Hi @Jessie

Glad to hear you’re finding comfort from the forum! It’s been an absolute godsend for me since my procedure so it’s great you’ve found it so early. I’d also recommend the short term healing from LLETZ/LEEP group on Facebook which has loads of advice and stories.

I’m 5 weeks out from my LLETZ for CIN2. The procedure itself was fine, a little uncomfortable but over very quickly. From my experience and from the many other posts I’ve read (had Covid during recovery so had a lot of reading time on my hands :joy:) it seems to follow a similar pattern (but not always)… for me it was…

Week 1: overall feeling okay… cramps, watery discharge, but veeerry hormonal/emotional (this didn’t last long thankfully)