LLETZ help

Hey, I’m 42 and due to have my first LLETZ treatment on Monday. I’m so scared anxious. I’m not good with injections. Does this treatment hurt? The healing affects seem to sound horrible. I have CIN1 CIN2 - any help reassurance would be great x

Hi @Lou1

I’m sorry you’re feeling so anxious, you’re certainly not alone - it’s completely normal to feel this way, especially if you’re not sure what to expect.

I had LLETZ 6 weeks ago today, so hopefully my experience will ease your worries. The procedure itself is uncomfortable but not unmanageable. If you’re having LA you will have a couple of injections into the cervix to numb you, then the colposcopist will use the loop excision tool to excise the cells (for me this only took 2 mins - I was so shocked!), then the cauterising tool to seal the wound. It’s a bit noisy and there’s a slight smell of burning, but in all honesty it’s all over very quickly. The colposcopist will talk you through why you’re having the procedure, everything that’s going on, and what to expect next. They’re so reassuring and really great at what they do.

Next comes the recovery and I will admit it’s as much emotional as it is physical. I cried for days at the smallest of things but have been reassured that this is completely normal due to hormones and the experience of having intimate surgery.

The physical recovery really varies by person but there’s a lot you can do to make sure it goes as smoothly as possible for you. I was exhausted so I slept a lot and felt guilty for doing so, but this is your body telling you it’s time to rest and recover. Really rest up and take it easy for 4 weeks minimum, no heavy lifting, no strenuous exercise (gentle walks should be okay just be mindful not to overdo it). No baths, swimming or sex of any kind to allow the cervix to heal and avoid infection.