Hysterectomy 2 years on- children mentioned

Hysterectomy 2 years on- children mentioned

Its been a long time since ive been on here. My story: diagnosed with cc 1a1 and CGIN in 2010, had a lletz then cine biopsy and they got it all. Amazingly had another baby since, she is 2 in September so 2 girls now. Don't want anymore babies so I was booked in for sterilisation today under my gynae surgeon but them my oncologist told me he would do a hysterectomy if I was certain I didn't want more children. 

This is what I want, my worries are that I'm a nurse and start my midwifery training in September so he has said he would do it in June. How have you got on with the recovery ladies? I had 2 sections and recovered really well. I am really struggling at the moment with everything relating to the cancer. At the time I was so positive and rarely cried. Since then I have tried not to think, talk or deal with it but have started counselling a month ago and finding its really helping. My overriding fear is that it is going to come back. I really hope this doesn't offend anyone because I know others haven't had the choice of a hysterectomy or not. They told me that when I was diagnosed this is what they'd have down if we didn't want more children.Sarah x

18/08/10- 1st smear (25 years old )showed CIN3 and CGIN 2/09/10- Colposcosy, Lletz and biopsy 27/09/10-diagnosed with CC 1a1 12/10/10  cone biopsy under GA 19/10/10- all clear

Hi Sarah,

As a nurse, you probably know this already but my understanding is that a radical hysterectomy will give you the best chance of getting rid of the worry and the risk. I had CGIN/adenocarcinoma too and I was told that it doesn't always occur in one patch so I would have been very nervous to have kept tissue where it might linger or recur.