HPV positive. Please help, I'm so scared

Hi

Sorry I’m new to this so I hope this is OK.

My smear test was due in Feb 2020, I booked it and it was cancelled because of covid. By the time my surgery contacted me to reschedule (in september 2020) I was pregnant with my first baby and therefore couldn’t have it. They just advised for me to have it after having my baby.

I eventually had my smear in September 2021…my baby was born in April and I was told to wait 3 months. By the time they could fit me in it had to be early September. All my previous smears have been fine so I didn’t worry.

Unfortunately my results have destroyed me and my relationship with my husband. I’m also embarrassed to say that lately, I’ve been feeling suicidal because of it too.

I tested positive for HPV but no abnormal cells. I feel so dirty and ashamed. I’ve only ever been with my husband for any sexual contact and we have been together for 13 years, married for 5. I can’t get over the thoughts that he has cheated. I’ve read online that in ‘extreme’ cases it can lay dormant in your system…but for 13 years? Really? And if it has, doesn’t that make me more likely to get cancer if I’ve had it all these years?

It can only have come from him but when? All I can think of is who was she and did he cheat whilst I was pregnant? I’ve lost all sex drive and everytime he comes near me or hints at sex, my mind instantly goes to HPV and I panic. Obviously this is incredibly frustrating for him because…well he’s a man!