Hpv positive and borderline changes

Hi , I am new to this page and completely overwhelmed. I’m 31 and had 3 smear test in my life first 2 came back normal, I got my letter from my last smear on Tuesday saying hpv positive (doesn’t say high or anything, not sure if I have to wait for the coloscopy to find that out) and borderline changes to my cells. I completely broke down and cried every since. I have a little girl and it’s just me and her and I’m petrified of all this. I have always practiced safe sex and feel ashamed of all this. Does anyone else have any help or anything please. I haven’t been able to function since and can’t bare the thought of what could be happening in my body. I don’t have any irregular bleeding but have pains. Thank you in advance for any comment.

Hi Samantha, I am not in the same situation as you but I didn’t want to read and run! I am 34 and all my previous smears were fine until 2019 when my result came back as HPV positive but no abnormal cells. I believe they had only just started the primary HPV testing then. I was then back for smears yearly and this year had my 3rd HPV positive test so was sent for a colposcopy. Luckily everything was fine at my colposcopy and I have been discharged back to every three years.
I see from your post you have borderline changes to your cells along with HPV which will be why you are being referred to Colposcopy now. Although it won’t be the result you were hoping for I took comfort that I was being regularly monitored and even when I was referred for Colposcopy this year although I was nervous I was also pleased I was being thoroughly checked over and so please take a little comfort in not only that, but also that borderline changes is very very early changes and anything picked up will be able to be dealt with before it becomes anything sinister!