HPV and abnormal cells

Hi, this is my first time posting. I received my smear test results today which confirmed HPV present and also abnormal cells. I am almost a year overdue a smear because of covid restrictions. I have been told I will be I invited for a coloscapy within 8 weeks. 

I suffer from health anxiety and this has sent my anxiety through the roof. I tried to call my doctor but as usual, no appointments were available for a chat for further clarification.

Last year I had abnormal vaginal bleeding and pains in my right lower side.   I was given ovarian scans and a biopsy of my uterus - which were all normal. But no smear test because of restrictions.

I have no idea how long HPV has been dormant in my system as I am 45 years old, married with 2 teens. 

I'm so worried and anxious and am now convinced it is cancer because HPV must've been dormant for years and because I am almost a year overdue my smear. 

Hi Jo

i hope I can help relieve some of your anxiety. People were amazing helping me a couple of weeks ago. I have high risk HPV and my smear said moderate changes to my cells. I was so scared and read 100s of internet sites etc. Drive myself mad. Went to the colposcopy and had gas & air, really helped me relax! The nurse was not concerned about my HPV at all! In fact just brushed it off as a part of life. Made me feel so much better. My cells were mild when they looked closely and didn't require treatment, although the biopsy may come back and say I need them taking off but if it's as relaxed as my colposcopy appointment, I will be ok. It's easy for me to sit here and tell you not to worry, but I honestly wish I'd not got so worked up. Happy to explain any part of the process further if it helps you prepare or relax. Best of luck. Janine x

Hi Janine,

This is so lovely to hear. The approach of the medical staff make such a difference. I think you're right, it's just a fact of life!

Xx

Hi Janine

Thanks so much for replying to my message.