help..leaking a urine like substance

Hi everyone...I'm 9 days post radical hysterectomy and lymph node removal and have just had a scary experience..I wonder if anyone has experienced the same? 

,I has been told to expect some lymph fluid leakage /discharge from my vagina but today I've had what I could only describe as a full flow rine type liquid tinted with a pinkish blood running from my vagina..I have no pain. I just wonder if it is lymph fluid because to me it looks like urine..There is no stopping it either it's literally running done my legs when I stand up!

Help please

Kay xx 

Oh Kay, that would freak me out too.

I haven't had a hysterectomy so I have no experience or expertise to offer you here, however when I had an emergency operation for a torted ovarian cyst the gynae hospital team told me I could call them in the week or so after my discharge if I had any worries or concerns. Could you call the hospital ward you were on to get some advice/reassurance from a doctor or one of the nurses? It's only just over a week so it's not unreasonable.

In my non-expert opinion, the fact that you describe the discharge as 'pinkish' suggests 'stained with a little blood' rather than 'fresh blood' which would be reasonable given the amount of 'rummaging & stitching' they've done up there. It's also strongly likely to be lymphatic fluid - we produce a lot of he stuff! It sounds as if you need absorbent pads for a few days and reassurance that this is normal and/or will slow down and go away some time soon. I'd definitely call to speak with someone for that advice/reassurance. It's probably entirely normal, but if it isn't it's best not to leave things too long. Either way, you'll have some piece of mind.

Be gentle with yourself.