Hello. Newbie here, waiting for biopsy results

Hello all,

Nice to meet you! I'm very glad I found this forum and can chat to people who are in the same boat. I had my colposcopy on the 16th following two smears which both came back with 'severe dyskariosis'. The colposcopy was a bit of an ordeal (apparently my cervix is 'up the back and around the corner' :s). They took three biopsies, and now I am driving myself round the bend waiting on results. How are the rest of you doing with the waiting around? Is there anything you've found to help take your mind off it? All I have heard from close friends and family is 'not to worry', which I'm finding a bit of an impossible task! Cheers for your time.

Best wishes,

sm.

Hi! I had the same smear result as you, was sent for colposcopy and had 2 biopsies taken.  I was driving myself crazy waiting for the results too, one day was ok and the next was in tears with worry.  I gave in and phoned the hospital after almost 3 weeks of waiting, they said I had to wait and I explained that I was stressed out waiting and she gave me the results over the phone, two days later they arrived in the post.  I would suggest giving them a call as you never know they might be just sitting there!  No harm in trying!  My biopsy results came back 'mild abnormality' after being told it was severe from the smear test.  Fingers crossed it is the same for you!  Wanted to share my news with you as just because the smear showed it was servere it doesn't always mean bad news.  Fingers crossed for you :) xx

Thanks, Poppy111! I'm exactly the same. Think I'm doing well distracting myself then just randomly start getting weepy. I'm only on week 2 of waiting, althought I'm getting a tonsillectomy on Friday so I'm sure that'll distract me for a little while. I'll definitely try giving them a phone in a few weeks. I'm so glad that you got good news back! It must be such a relief. I hope that any treatment you need goes well :)

Best wishes,

sm