Heavy bleeding what happens in colposcopy?

Hi

i am new to the forum and posted yesterday about awaiting the date for the colposcopy following My GP examining me and finding my cervix was inflamed and bled all the time.

I am concerned that it is highly likely I will bleed very heavily during the procedure given how I have bled after sex and bleeding during the examination. 

I was wondering if anyone has a similar experience to my in terms of the blood issue and if they still get a proper look during the procedure if there is heavy bleeding, if they can't what do they do?

Also not really sure what to expect, do they treat u on the day if they see things and do they usually share their thoughts on the day?

Thanks for your help. I'm trying to focus on practically and mentally preparing myself instead of Google mania and convincing myself of the worst.

kimmy

Hiya I have no experience on the blood issue however I recently had a colposcopy and lletz treatment on the same day. From what I've gathered if they can see the cells and they think that they can easily remove them then they do the procedure there and then. There are people who can be called back or they take biopsies and leave treatment until the biopsies are back, I'm not too sure on this route though as I haven't had them done. I just went, he put iodine on, saw the cells, said he could do treatment there and then, eager to get it over with I told him to do whatever he needed to lol now the long wait for the results :( hope whatever happens it's good news for you :) I bled quite a lot during the procedure but they have a suction thing that they use to get rid of the blood so that they can still see what they are doing, not sure if they could use this whilst examining you? I was petrified but I felt silly afterwards as it really was nowhere near as bad as imagined. Sorry if this comment is a bit jumbled up btw trying to type quickly before school run :) best of luck xx

Hi Kimmy,