Friable cervix

I've got a colposcopy appointment next week and worried sick. Can't sleep and I just feel like crying all the time. 

I've been bleeding after sex for several months now but only went to the doctor a couple of weeks ago. I didn't go sooner because I was terrified of getting covid as I live with someone who is high risk. And I hoped it would go away. I feel really stupid and angry with myself for not going earlier.

Everyone else on here seems to get referred because of abnormal smears. My last smear was almost 3 years ago and have always been clear. 

The GP said my cervix was friable. There's not much info on here about a friable cervix. There was quite a lot of blood when she took the speculum out and she didn't even do a smear or feel inside me, she only had a look. I bled for the rest of the day afterwards. More blood than when I have sex. I've stopped having sex now because I can't cope with any more blood.

The GP started talking about the pill causing a friable cervix but I've been off the pill for 2 and a half years (after taking it for almost 20 years). When I told her that, she didn't really offer any other explanation so in my head that meant she didn't want to say the word cancer.

Just wondering if anyone else is in a similar position.

Hi Fran

I was in a similar position back in the winter 2016.  It was several months before I went to the GP about my symptoms; abnormal discharge in my case and like you thought it would just sort itself out.  It's easy to see what one might have done better with hindsight and it took me a while to forgive myself but then life places many demands on us, no one gets it right all the time. At least you have kept up to date with your smears whereas I was more than 10 years overdue for a test when I got symptoms!