Freaking Out!!!!

Have just been to hospital for my pre-op for biopsy tomorrow. Except I have discovered that they are also doing an EUA (which I expected), something else that I didn't quite catch (cystoscopy I think) and a sigmoidoscopy!! Is this the usual run of things?? I'm freaking out that they think it's spread already. I've tried telling myself that they need to look around to know that it hasn't but sadly I seem to be incapable of listening to me! 

Experiences and reassurance gratefully received.

Thanks 

Rachel x

I am no expert and am recently diagnosed but I have been told it is absolutely normal practice to do these things purely to rule other things out. Be very very glad that when they tell you that you are clear they really know you are clear! I had my MRI results today (thankfully clear) and it's such a great feeling to know that showed nothing. I was due to have what you are having next week but instead they offered me the chance to have it done under local today and I leapt at it. All the structures they are testing for yu are very close and they need to know exactly what they are dealing with to offer the very best treatment if any is necessary. Good luck!

Thanks Ostrich, I'm having all done under GA tomorrow and am glad I'll not be awake to be honest. Came as a bit of a shock as in clinic last week he only mentioned the biopsy and nothing else. I guess I should be glad they are doing it all at once.

Awesome that your results were clear. I'll keep my fingers crossed for some of the same.

Rachel x

Hi Hun,

Look I can't lie before I had it done I was convinced they were going to find something horrendous in me but they didn't. Whatever it is or isn't at least tomorrow you'll have a better understanding & then only the wait for the biopsy results.

Once you know what you're dealing with you will feel better.

Sending you a big hug from Essex xxx