First Timer!

Hi everyone,

I am new to this and a few weeks ago went for my first screening (I’m 25 next week) so not great timing for my birthday but oh well!
Yesterday I received my results in the post and I had borderline changes and tests were showing positive for HPV.
First initially thought is OH MY GOD and I spent most of the evening in tears. (Even though I tell myself it might not be as bad as you think and at times I do feel silly for over reacting).

But anyway… I have seen several posts on here and you all seem to be an amazing support group for one another and give answers (where poss) so basically I am curious to know is it as bad as I think or because its borderline does that mean it is not that bad?

I keep going from “you will be fine” to “OH MY GOD” and i just would like some reassurance where poss.
Also how long were you all roughly waiting for your colposcopy appointment?

The waiting is killing me and it has only been 24 hours!!

Thank you for anyone who helps or advises x

Hi Dionne,

I am on the same boat as you 2 months ago mild changes and hpv positive. I waited 4 weeks for my colposcopy appointment.

All the best! X

Hi Dionne

And welcome to the club ;-) That really sucks, getting an abnormal result on your first smear. I made it to 44 years old and then BAM! Same results as you. I can totally identify with the OH MY GOD and getting into a complete spin over it.

Firstly, colposcopy appointments seem to be really quick. Mine was within about a week of my letter, though I delayed it by a few days as I was just finishing a contract at the time. A quick appointment is not a reason to panic btw, they havent done it because they think you have cancer, they will just fit you in as soon as they can.