First smear abnormal 25years old (children mentioned)

Hi

im quite new to this so bear with me :)

i got called last year for a smear test but didn't book the appointment until the 4th March. I had a pleasant experience and was told I'd get the results in about 8-10 days but can take up to 3 weeks. I got home from work today with a letter saying I had an abnormal smear result and I have an appointment on Monday the 23rd for a coloscopy. puld I be worried that I got an appointment booked for me so soon? I am so worried and thinking the worst. I have a 3 year old little boy and all I can think of that I won't be here to watch him grow. 

Id id be happy to hear everyone's experiences

Hi! Please try not to worry, that's pretty normal waiting times. I got my letter saying I had a colposcopy appointment the following week around 2 weeks after my smear. 

Having abnormal changes doesn't mean cancer :)  they don't exactly make it very clear in the letter. It is usually staged 'borderline', 'low grade' and 'high grade'  and even if it's high grade it just means they'd probably want to treat it now as it could lead to cancer in many years. 

I'm sure you'll be fine. Keep us updated! 

Thanks very much for your reply. It was just a shock when I got home to find that letter waiting for me! I have calmed down a little now but still quite anxious. I guess I'll just have to play the waiting game and I shall keep you posted. Hope your results from your biopsy are all good :) x

Hi ;)

Don't worry, I was in the same boat, got called for my first smear in September. Received my results exactly a week later accompanied by an appointment for the following week.

I think it's normal practice for them to be quick with appointments because they don't really know what they ate dealing with until you've had your colposcopy. All my other results have taken weeks and weeks except the smear ones. Like I said try not to worry.

Best of luck

Louise x

Hi Louise