Finished treatment and struggling!

Hi I’m new to Jo’s ! I was diagnosed with grade 3C CC on 18th March this year and am now 6 weeks out of treatment. I had 27 external radiotherapy, 5 chemo and 3 brachytherapy. At my 4 week check up i was told the cancer is now 2cm (previously 3.5cm x 4cm) i know brachytherapy continues to work for 3 months, and i will be scanned in November :crossed_fingers:I am finding I am struggling with this ‘limbo’ stage. I thought i would feel better much quicker than this. I am shocked at how long it is taking me to recover from treatment. I am usually so full of energy and always on the go ! I am due back to work in 2 weeks and will do a phased return. Is anyone else struggling at this point ? I still have bowel side effects so eating is an issue, fatigue, joint pain (mainly pelvis/hip) and odd bouts of nauseau and nerve pain BUT there are improvements with all of these and i am coping​:+1:. I get really down some days, it’s just not me ! My thyroid is imbalanced atm due to treatment and obviously menopause is now kicking in so that isn’t helping ! Is it ‘normal’ to take this long to recover? My oncologist and loved ones are telling me not to run before i can walk and that it’s early days but I’m struggling with it mentally.

2 Likes

Gosh, 6-weeks is no recovery time at all! The radiotherapy keeps working for months and therefire you will get side effects too. You are doing absolutely brilliantly and things will get better and better. Be kind to yourself, spoil yourself and you will get there!

Karen x

4 Likes

Thank you for replying x
Your opening ‘Gosh 6 weeks is no recover time at all’ made me laugh ! I thought i wasn’t doing well ! I feel guilty and frustrated when i haven’t got the energy to do things. In my head i am thinking i am not ‘physically’ going to hospital for treatment everyday now and should be able to do more than i am x

1 Like

Hi Karen