Feeling really anxious

Hi everyone,

I've never done anything like this before but I've recently had my first smear test (I'm 24) and the results came back as having high grade (moderate) dyskaryosis.

Stupidly, i googled it and now im proper panicking. I've been referred to the colposcopy clinic at my local hospital to have the colposcopy to see what's going on up there. 

Can anybody give me any advice/an insight into what the colposcopy is actually like?

I have really bad anxiety anyway so naturally I'm overthinking and worrying. If anyone can give me any advice I would really appreciate it. Luckily my boyfriend, parents and flatmate are incredibly supportive but being told that 'I'll be fine' isn't helping even though I know it's their way of trying to calm me down and make me worry less. 

Thank you to everyone in advance :) 

Emily 

Hello! Colposcopy sounds worse than it is! They put in a dye to see the bad cells you have and look at them with a microscope

then they will tell you how bad the cells are and what treatment you should have if you need any or they I'll just take a biopsy to have checked 

it's really not that bad at all- it's the unknown  our nerves that make it worse!!

Hi

I have really bad anxiety too especially concerning hospitals and needles. 

Its honestly no worse than a smear except you might be able to smell vinegar as they use acetic acid to dye your cervix. They also put your legs in stirrups rather than letting your knees fall to the sides.

Ive had about four or five colposcopies now and I panicked about the first one but afterwards I realised it just feels the same as a smear. They may offer you treatment there and then if they want to remove the cells and they give you anaesthetic for this.

I also had high grade changes and after lots of "wait and see"s I had LLETZ treatment last week. 

You honestly have nothing to worry about withbthe colposcopy. Xx

Hi Emily