Feeling lost!

Hi Everyone!
I am new to this and I suppose I have taken to this forum in the hope that I am not alone in the way I am feeling.

I was given the ‘all clear’ in September and in the first instance there was the obvious pure joy and celebrations that the treatment has done it’s job however in recent weeks I have felt completely lost… I am 27 am due to the treatment I am now unable to have children and I am also not it a relationship so I am kind of feeling a lack of purpose to my life right now… it’s like the cancer stage is over so now what do I do?!?

I have a wonderful job and a lovely house, great family and friends so really I shouldn’t be feeling this way… but I feel now that I am wasting my life as I have gone back to exactly the same life I was living before diagnosis. I feel like I should be going off on some big adventure and making the most of my time, but then also tied to where I am as I can’t go far due to the ongoing hospital appointments.

Has anyone else felt like this? is it just a phase that will pass?

Sorry for the rambling!

Katie x

Hi Katie :-)

(((((HUGS)))))

I know exactly how you feel. A cancer diagnosis followed by an all clear is like a second chance to make your life worthwhile and boy wouldn't you be silly to waste it. Well yes. But you can't just up sticks and go off exploring the Amazon any more than I can, but you can share your new-found positive exuberance with others and put something back. I live so remotely that the best I can do is come on here and support other women who are frightened, but maybe you could do something voluntary at your local hospital? You never know, you might even end up meeting the love of your life :-) But that's just one suggestion, there are loads and loads of different things you could do to help make other people's lives happier than they are, you just need to think about what sort of thing you would like to be doing in your spare time.

Be happy :-)
Tivoli

Hi