Emotional recovery after LLETZ

Hey, 

this forum has been really helpful while going through the whole diagnosis process, though it's my first time posting. All of the information on here really helped to prepare me for the physical side of getting diagnosed with CIN3 cells and what that means, and what to expect in a LLETZ treatment session etc. But I haven't been prepared for the emotional response I've had. When I first went to the GP with concerning symptoms (spotting between periods, pain during sex, plus I had really bad thrush), I really focused on not worrying about it until I had results. Since getting the results of 'no signs of cancer but CIN3 cells', my emotions have been all over the place. And they've been even worse since the LLETZ treatment. I've been on the edge of tears sort of constantly, and feeling really anxious and down. I've also been exhausted all the time. There have been some other changes going on in my life that can help to explain some of it, but it really feels connected to my health issues. 

Has anyone else found it difficult to recovery emotionally? I'm sure it's the pent up anxiety of the last few months. I was hoping to feel more relief, but that just hasn't come yet! 

Thanks, what a great community this is xx

Hello I think the emotional trauma of this process is underestimated by the medics.i have been the same as you still not feeling great after a week and a half. Hope you feel better soon xx

Thanks Jennywren, I'm sorry to hear you're going through the same thing. It feels really ridiculous in a way, because I should just be relieved it's nothing more serious. But telling myself that doesn't seem to be helping! I just didn't really expect it to be this hard, with a relatively positive result. I feel really stange trying to talk about it without feeling like I'm trying to be dramatic. I don't know. I'm sure it will pass. It's just been unexpected. I hope you feel better soon, too. I'm sure we both will xx