Do you think..?

I understand from everything i have read that 90% of women ‘clear’ hpv in 2 years. Yet from my own anecdotal evidence i have multiple friends who have been in long term monogamous relationships for 6+ years (including myself) or no sex for years and years and have tested positive for HPV. My mum also had to get treatment for abnormal cells after 20 years of marriage as have many of her friends.

Do you think this statistic is actually accurate… seems to me like they know shit all about this virus not going to lie, it is very confusing. Perhaps when they think people have cleared it is actually just lying dormant.

2 Likes

Hi lilystar

I’m not an expert but I think when they say ‘clear’ they mean as evidenced with a negative HPV test. So it’s proabably anyones’s guess how many people are actually infected because as you say it may be a case that the virus is dormant in which case a HPV test will be negative.

There are no hard and fast rules about how HPV may behave in any given individual. For the vast majority of women HPV doesn’t cause any physical harm; it’s an unlucky minority who seem to be susceptible to it’s cancer causing potential.

I think one of the most important things that all women should understand is that HPV can lie dormant for many years (I think it could be decades) and that it can rear its ugly head at any time. This is where I went so wrong; I mistakenly believed, age 50y and with a long history of normal smear test results behind me, that I could safely stop getting them - BIG mistake - see my back story.

x

2 Likes

Thanks jazza- yes I think you’re right. I just noticed a bit of a disconnect from my experience and from everything I have read.