Confusing post LLETZ letter

Hi everyone I've been lurking here for a while but never posted.

I had a smear test back in November and it came back with CIN3 AND CGIN.

I had a Coloscopy and LLETZ the same day and was told I would get my results through the post.

Today after 4 weeks of waiting I had a letter. All it said was what I had done and that i will need a 'test of cure' in 6 months.

What does this mean? Am I ok now or can they not tell for 6 months? 4 weeks of fear and still no confirmation of what the hell is going on. I don't think I can take another 6 months of not knowing.

Hi,

I'm no expert, but I had LLETZ yesterday so the info is all still really fresh in my mind! The nurse said that I would receive a phone call in 2-4 weeks if there was anything further to investigate.  Otherwise, I'd be recalled via letter in either 3 or 6 months (depending on what they decide is best) for follow-up.

So I think the fact that they don't want to see you for 6 months is good news, but do phone up and check. The medical staff I dealt with stressed that it was fine to phone and ask if I had any questions so presume will be the same for everyone. 

Good luck!

Hi i had my LLETZ done in november, i have CGIN, i also got the letter to say the doc had got all the cells and to go back in 6 months for a test of cure! Try stop worrying as im not now, im guessing we are ok and theres no cancer. We would have been told otherwise. Hope this helps abit xx

Hi Jayne. How long did your results letter take?