Concerned that smears only test for HPV

Hi all, newbie here! So I was diagnosed stage 1a back in 2017. I had the LLETZ procedure which thankfully cleared it all and no further treatment was required. However, back in 2017 they were not testing for HPV so i have no clue whether or not my diagnosis was as a result of HPV. If it wasnt, as not all cases are down to HPV, my concern is that smear tests only look for HPV initially, rather than abnormal cell changes. How are they picking up non HPV related cervical cancer if they arent testing for abnormal cells?? Really concerns me, anyone else? Thanks for reading and sending everyone love :heart:

2 Likes

I’m afraid I don’t know the answer to that but I’m interested to know if somebody does. Smears are tested for cell changes if HPV positive according to the NHS website but not if HPV negative. HPV-independant changes are statistically much rarer than HPV related changes and the new HPV test is as successful at indicating CIN as the old pap smear. My diagnosis is HPV-independant CGIN, though, and I only happened to be sent for colposcopy because of repeated HPV positive results (no changes found at smear). I’d love to know if anyone knows whether it would ever have been picked up before I developed symptoms without also being HPV positive. Wouldn’t it be ironic if HPV actually helped keep some people healthy by prompting colposcopy!?

Hi @Jwalton

Unfortunately smears arnt of any help when it comes to the none HPV CC cases, they discovered HPV to be the cause of 99.7% of CC cases and the direct cause of our precancerous changes/stages, these can be picked up by our smears but the 0.3% there doesnt seem to be any precancerous stages to help prevent it, as women who got regular smears (going off those before the HPV testing was a primary that is) there isnt any warning signs of those types like the HPV CC does