Colposcopy under GA (biopsy)

Hi there!!

Newbie here, so I hope someone can put my mind at ease!

I will start from the beginning…

I had my smear test and received my results within 2 weeks - they came back as sever high grade dyskaryosis and HPV positive. Next steps were to have a colposcopy…

I had my colposcopy today and the Dr talked me through the procedure etc (was going to have a biopsy taken and remove all the abnormal cells) - its what I had prepped myself for so I was ready!

During the colposcopy, the Dr said the surface area of the cells was too large and was too close to the vaginal wall to remove so i will have to go under general anesthetic to have them removed/looked at! Not what I was prepared for!

I am absolutely worried sick - worrying that the cells have spread too much into the vaginal wall… worried they have spread to my womb… I’m 28 and me and my fiance are trying for a baby (no luck as of yet) so I am absolutely beside myself with worry about what’s to come…

Can anyone shed some light on their experience with this please (I have searched and I can’t find anything which is worrying me even more) what can I expect?

Sorry for the lengthy post, but any advice/support would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you so much! x

Hi!

I don’t have exact experience in regards to being told the size of cell abnormality was too large to do procedures under local anesthetic. I had my colposcopy and biopsies taken but do need LEEP procedure (supposed to be next week) and my gyno only does it under general anesthesia. Not at all what I had prepared myself for either so I’m nervous too as I’ve never had any type of anesthesia before. Which I now know after speaking to people is quite rare for someone who is 32 :see_no_evil: