Colposcopy Questions!!

Hi All,

I am new to Jo's Trust and to the Forum this is my 1st post.

I am waiting for a date for my Colposcopy.  I telephoned the Clinic last Monday and spoke to the Sister there to try to try to get some info

But still have questions!  I was told it is likely I will need treatment on the day (they do Heated Loop Treatment) but I've been reading up

& it says afterwards you should bleed no more than your usual period; well for me that is a problem!  I've been on the Pill for a long time

& I do not know what my usual period would be like!  I do not have time to have a break from the Pill before I have treatment to find out/

I am scheduled to have treatment in next 3 weeks although I do not have date yet: I'm concerned re: the bleeding as I read that if you bleed

More than a usual period it could be a sign of infection, so I don't know how you tell?!!?

+ Does anyone know what the local anesthetic they use for Heated Loop Treatment is??  I had a minor op' under local on my adductor tendon

Last year (x2) & both times I had a really bad reaction to the local anesthetic used  Frown  I am almost more scared about the possibility they might

Use this type of local anesthetic than of having the loop treatment itself!!  The Sister told me they use a local that is like the 1 they use when you

You have a tooth out (dental local anesthetic).  Anyone who knows about any of this I would really appreciate feedback.

Thank You....

Routine Smear Test: 2nd May 2014

Letter re: Colposcopy with diagnosis of High Grade Dyskaryosis & CIN2: 8th May 2014

Colposcopy Date Due in next 3 weeks (Between 19th - 9th June 2014) + possible Heated Loop Treatment

Hi,

First of all you've come to the right place! Everyone on here is so helpful.