Colposcopy booked

Hi everyone!

Im a newbie on here as I've just had my first ever smear and have had a letter telling me i have low grade dyskaryosis and evidence of HPV infection but no mention of low or high risk? I have my colposcopy appointment booked for the 14th August which has panicked me a little as it's less than a week away so makes me feel it's something bad?

Has anybody else had this?

Thanks in advance!

Jodie x 

Very normal Hun, I was in after a week! They don't mess around when it comes to this! We are all here if you need to talk xxx

Hi Jodie

Lots of ladies in the same position and it's always scary when you're called in for a colopscopy (I totally panicked). It basically means that they need to take a further look to be on the safe side and check if theres any abnormalities that might require treatment. Very often they'll look and say you just need to go back in 6 months for another check-up. Even if you do need treatment that can often be done there and then. By the sounds of things, I don't think low grade dyskaryosis usually requires treatment, well that was the case for me 6 months ago. I believe that HPV 16 and 18 are the high risk strains, but you could always ask which you have when you go back for your appointment. Wishing you the best of luck and hopefully it will all go well xXx

Aug 2013 - turned 25, clear smear result
Jan 2015 - smear taken as part of routine 'full body' health check-up - results show HPV 16 high risk, and CIN 1 confirmed
Jan 2015 - colposcopy, CIN 2 confirmed, biopsy taken - results inconclusive, return in 6 months for another colposcopy
July 2015 - 6 mth repeat colposcopy - abnormal cells seen, biopsy taken, and smear
July 2015 - smear results show HPV 16 moderate changes, biopsy result inconclusive (again) - lletz carried out. 
July 2015 - Lletz results showed CIN 1, removed with clear margins. Check-up smear in 6 months.