CIN 3 and need reassurance

Hi,

I'm new to this so hope this is the right place/ thing to do.

i had a smear3 years ago that came back clear, I had my second ever smear last week and had a letter informing me that I have CIN 3. 

I'm not worried about the colposcopy procedure itself but I am terrified they may find cancer.

i can't stop shaking and im sooooo worried. I haven't received a letter for an appointment yet but I had to ring the gp to find out when it was as was just about to start my 7 pill free days. My appointment is on the 19th and I'm struggling to think about anything else. 

If anyone can offer statistics or any calming advice/ experience I'd really appreciate it. 

B.

Hi sweetie,

I had my first smear last month with high grade dyskerosis/CIN3, my consultant at the colposcopy told me this does not mean you have cancer but it would become cancerous if left untreated. 

They gave me a loop excision biopsy and took away about 13mm of my cervix. Currently waiting for my results ( the hard part) but my best advice is to take someone with you to the colposcopy for reassurance and comfort. Continue to post on here to with any worries as we all need support from others having the same experience :) 

Hope all goes well for you xxx

hi coral,

thank you for your reply. It's all just such a worry. My sister is coming with me and she is super calm in any situation so that's a good thing.

so the biopsy taken will be checked to make sure the got all the abnormal cells I'm assuming? 

im such a worrier and an over thinker at the best of times. Just want to know as much as I can to try and put my mind at ease. 

Thanks again and let me know how your biopsy went. Good to know there's opeople who understand. 

B. x

Yep they just want to make sure they've rid my body of the nasties :) don't worry I'm exactly the same, to my friends I'm the calm one, alone I'm an emotional wreck!