CIN 2/3 on Pap smear :(

Hi all, I'm Shelly, I'm 38 and I'm a psychiatric nurse from Melbourne, Australia. I hope you all don't mind but I would like to tell my story and ask a few questions.  

In early March this year I went off to have my STD screen and pap smear.  I'm a former infectious diseases nurse and I'm pretty pragmatic - even though I would love to think that my boyfriend is 100% faithful but I know in reality that this isn't always the case so it's best to get screened regularly for STDs.  So when I got an urgent call-back from my GP I thought "I must have a STD; I'm gonna kill the b*st*rd!".  I got an appointment immediately and to my surprise I was clear on all my bloods & cultures.  But the Pap smear was positive for CIN 2/3.  I was floored. Absolutely shocked and in NO WAY expecting this.

My GP didn't really explain much but urged me to get an appointment with a private gynaecologist immediately.  A year earler she had a patient found with CIN 2/3 on her smear who was referred to the public system.  That lady had to wait > 12 months for a colposcopy and in that time she had developed advanced cervical cancer.  While my GP said that was a relatively rare case, she urged me not to wait.  If I went to a public gynae I would have to wait up to 12 months for the initial appointment and then further months for colposcopy &/or surgery.  I have no private insurance but am more than happy to fork out the $$ for a private consult if it saves months and months of waiting.

Two weeks later I had an appointment with a private gynae who has booked me in for a LLETZ in the public system.  Tomorrow will be my preadmission clinic appointment and then I will get a surgery date.  The gynae said there's no real point having a colposcopy first as the recommended treatment for CIN 2 or 3 is LLETZ so we might as well to the treatment.  I've done a good bit of google-ing and this seems logical to me.