Case referred to MDT after cone biopsy

Hi all,

This is my first time posting, but this forum has been truly invaluable to me over the last few months, so thanks to everyone here.

I’m 24 and so had my first ever smear test in April of this year. A month later I received a call from a nurse booking me in for a colposcopy visit as my results showed as HPV positive and CIN3. Post-colposcopy biopsies I was told I had Adenocarcinoma In Situ and CGIN, and so was referred for a cone biopsy scheduled for one month later. I was told to expect results 4-6 weeks later, and here I am 4 weeks later having received the most vague letter so far!

The letter reads “Further to your recent Colposcopy clinic visit, we will discuss your case at our next MDT to ensure the best plan of care for you. Following the meeting/discussion one of our team will contact you with the outcome”

I found the wording of the letter quite scary, and so called the colposcopy unit but they just told me that they can’t share any info before the MDT (which happens once a month, but they couldn’t tell me how long until the next one, so how long I might be waiting).

I was hoping others might be able to share their experiences of what this meant for them if you have received a similar letter? I might be overthinking, but I was honestly assuming that my results post cone-biopsy would just arrive in a letter saying either ‘you’re all good’ or ‘not all good’, basically, so didn’t foresee this further delay.
Is this something that happens for everyones cases?

Thanks all,

H

Hi