can someone please advise me

Hello everyone, i am new to this, i am 24 yrs old and i have just had my very first smear test and found out that i have abnormal cells, i have a hopsital appointment next thursday to start the colposcopy treatment, but i have had a leaflet today explaining what might happen etc, and there was a section saying that it is best if someone can come with you to take me straight home after the treatment has finished if not you have to stay in the hospital until you are well enough to go home on your own.

I have my mum coming with me but we are getting the bus and i was just asking whether it would be ok to get the bus after going through that or would it be better to go in a car?

I am very scared about all this as i have never been through it :(!! i would appreciate if someone can help me, as sometime its better to talk to people you dont know then someone you do know.

thanks everyone xx

Hi Kaley,

Sorry to hear that you have to go through this. Especially as it is your first smear test. I have recently had the Lletz treatment and a cone biopsy. I had my husband come with me as I was scared too. To be honest when the proceedure had finished I was suprised at how ok I felt. I had to have 4 anaesthetic injections but I think that is more than normal, usually they use two.

My husband drove home but to be honest I felt well enough to drive it was more emotionally draining. I didn't find any part of the tratment painful, I would just say it is uncomfortable. I am sure you will be fine on the bus but if you can get a taxi or someone to pick you up you might feel more comfortable. Make sure you rest when you get home. I have two young children and tried to do too much in the first few days and ended up with an infection as I didn't sit down.

Good luck with it hun, you will be fine xxxxxx

Hi Kaley,