Been with partner 6 years HPV positive result

Hi there, 

I went for a cervical screening. Been sent a letter diagnosing me with HPV and abnormal cells. Been asked to go back for a colposcopy.

I must of had HPV for 6 years or more. I’ve been with my partner for 6 years and no one else. I recently have had abnormal bleeding between periods and my periods have changed. Instead of having sore boobs a week before my period it’s now 2 weeks. And I usually get spotting a couple of days before period now it’s changed to two weeks before, I sometimes having painful sex with certain positions and I informed the nurse but she said it may be due to my partners size. I thought the changes to my period was due to my age but now having the results back I’m worried. 

Can I please have some information about how likely is it to get cervical cancer if you have had HPV for 6 years or more? 

Many thanks, 

Justine 

Hi

I'm not an expert but here are some of my thoughts. HPV is a tricky thing and one of it's features is that it can lie dormant in the body for many years (based on my own experience I think it could be decades) in which state it is not detectable with testing and should not cause any cervical cell changes.  The key thing is how long the virus has been active during which time it is detectable with testing and may cause cervical cell abnormalities.    So I don't think there can be a reliable answer to your question - maybe your HPV has only been active for a short while or maybe longer.