Been a while.....

Hello...its been a while since I was here...I should visit more I know.

I, like many others, first came here when I was first diagnosed with Stage 2B CC back in 2009.

Like oh so many it was the start of a journey that would change my whole life.

I read the stories here and they are so familiar...so many memories.

Good and bad memories.

But here I am in my 4th year and still clear...many scares behind me.

Many times thinking this dreadful thing had returned or moved to a new location.

Terrified to visit the doctor for fear of what I may hear.

Hours spent talking on the phone with my CNS looking for solutions for my troubled thoughts.

Endless invasive tests for Pelvic Radiation Disease....trying to find something that would ease the situation.

Living with the long-term side effects of treatment is a chore in itself.

I have said many times, if I could have lived with the cancer I would have kept it...I never felt the way I do now when I had the cancer. But we know that isnt possible...I probably wouldnt be here now if I hadnt had the treatment.

I cant fault my Oncologist or his CNS. Nor can I complain about the treatment I had or any of the hospitals or their staff.

I thank God each and every day that I am still here...so many have gone and some so very young.

This forum....this was my lifeline in the beginning. Without it and the people in it, I would NEVER have got through what lay ahead of me. I was so scared. But they put mind at ease about the treatment and how I would feel. What to do to help myself. Such fantastic advice and support!!

The day I went for my very first appointment with the radiotherapy girls, a lady from this forum...her name was Suzy...she met me at the hospital and stayed with me all the way through my appointment. I will never forget that!

And when I went back for my treatment, she would come to the ward where I was having my chemo and sit with me...she used to bring me tea and a muffin lol.