At my colposcopy

I'm new to all this and frankly I'm scared and confused.

2 weeks ago I went to get a coil fitted and the doctor  saw something they didn't like and sent me for a referral to the hospital. 

Last week I had my appointment and the doctor I saw also didn't like what they had seen and managed to get me a colposcopy within an hour.

when I had it done the doctor/ consultant took 3 bits and sent for biopsy he said to me that he had been doing his job for a long time and then explained something to me but I can't remember really as i wa stunned, but the bit I got was that he was sure I would need a full hysterectomy. how does he know from doing what he did that day?

i have my MRI scan on Wednesday and then I have to go to see a consultant the day I get back off holiday in 10 days time.

i'm quite scared and confused how does he know before we get the results??

i have never had a smear test and really feel very foolish right now.

anyone been in this situation?

Oh Chezza that's such a bombshell to drop on you all of a sudden like that.

It's understandable that you were in shock and didn't take in what you were being told, but you need to get some clear answers, maybe give them a call just to clarify?

Sometimes they can see the cells without a microscope (like when you had your coil fitted) and it sounds like the colposcopy confirmed that the cells they saw needed to be removed.

In most cases I've read on here, they can often tell that something isn't as it should be before the MRI, but the MRI gives them a full internal picture so they se exactly what the issue is.

How old are you if you don't mind me asking?

I think it is better for them to send you for the MRI while you are waiting for the biopsy results instead of waiting weeks for those and then maybe weeks after that for the scan. It means they want to get it resolved quickly, especially with you going on holiday.

xx

Hi,