Anxious about delay

Hi everyone!

First of all, whilst this is my first time posting, I have looked to these boards for comfort time and time again and the support/kindness the community provides is invaluable. I know it must get a little tiresome offering the same sort of reassurances again and again, but I wanted to just say how much it is appreciated and I hope I can go on to help other people feel better, too.

So, I know my massive anxiety around this is borne out of the fact that I suffer with anxiety anyway – this has just given my anxiety a really good “project” to fixate on.

I had my first smear early (my area did that, for some reason!) at age 20 and it came back normal. The area I then moved to didn’t do them until 25, so there was a long gap until my next one. The next came back abnormal and I had a colposcopy and punch biopsy showing CIN1 and that I also had HPV. I get a bit hazy on the timeline from there, but I think I ended up having another smear in the interim and going back again, and it was all still the same (i.e. hadn’t “cleared up by itself”). However, there was no biopsy this time and the colposcopy nurse was happy to just keep an eye on it.  

It would be safe to say that my anxiety spiralled out of control at this stage, as feeling like no action was being taken (even though logically I KNOW this is not a high risk situation AT ALL) is really difficult for me. They wanted me to go for another colposcopy a year later, and oddly I couldn’t wait as I just wanted to feel in control and like things were being done. I moved house and was absolutely meticulous in changing my address with them, calling again a few weeks later to check it had been changed and was reassured it had and that they would contact me when I needed to come in for my next one.