Advice/Support

Hi Guys, 

So I'm 24 years old and today I went for my first smear test, during the smear I bled quite heavily, the nurse asked a male doctor to come in and examine my cervix, she had to use a swab to clean up the blood he literally looked for 10 seconds and took the nurse out of the room to speak to her, they then both came back in and said they were going to put me on an urgent 2 week referal. 

The nurse made the referal for me and then asked me to go speak to the doctor I did and he said the word cancer is going to be thrown around a lot over the next few weeks but that doesn't necesarily mean it is cancer. I was asked a lot of questions about discomfort and pain during sex, I have a little bit on entering but always thought this was because my partner is rather large (sorry for the too much information).  I have no bleeding but have experienced some pain in my left side. 

My appointment was at 10am this morning and I havent been able to stop worrying since, he said that just because a referal is made doesnt necessarily mean it is cancer but was honest saying that he was concered. Secondly I feel stuck and stressed discussing this with my family as we recently lost my nephew aged 6 to cancer so I don't want to worry them unnecessarily but inside i'm terrified. 

In summary I am just looking for some support in terms of what to expect next, what are normal symptoms, has anyone been diagnosed from a smear without any symptoms. 

Thankyou (in advance) for any help/support. 

Aimee x 

Hi Aimee,

Sorry to hear that, its such a worry.