abnormal results received today - scared and confused

Hi all,

Newbie here and totally freaking out! Received my results today - high grade diskaryosis. Aside from the usual fears I just had a few questions I was hoping people might be able to help with?

For anyone who also had a diagnosis of HPV, did your letter also refer to this? I had two letters and a whole load of leaflets, one letter stating the high grade diskaryosis finding, one hospital appointment letter (with an appointment for one weeks time!), two leaflets about colposcopy (one of which states “if your smear result has indicated that you have high risk HPV please read the enclosed leaflet”) and a what your results mean leaflet. No where on my letters does it mention HPV, does that mean I don’t have it? The nurse who did my smear said they would be testing for it so I’m definitely in an area that carries out routine HPV testing.

Finally, my letter states “it is unlikely that you have cancer” and goes on to say you will usually be treated as an outpatient and no need for hospital stay etc.

So my other questions apart from the HPV one above are: (1) does every letter state its unlikely you have cancer? Would it say something different if they really suspected it was there? Can I take any comfort from this at all? (2) should I be worried that I got an appointment so quickly? and (3) did anyone get told they had cancer at their colposcopy appointment or do you have to wait the four weeks for biopsy results?

So sorry for the length of this post and the 20 questions but any help and guidance would be really appreciated. I feel like I could cope a lot better if I had more information. Everything sent from the hospital is so vague and not reassuring in the slightest!

Hi there phleap,