4-6 months of bleeding and starting testing

Hi,

I’m so new to this. Like haven’t even had a smear test kind of new to this. I’ve got 3 young kids and so have always had an easy excuse to not have a smear.

Anyway, I’ve been bleeding between periods and after sex for around 4-6 months and have put it down to various things: changing birth control, being run down, stress etc.

I booked a smear for 30th Nov which was about 5/6 days after my period stopped. I had to cancel due to a sick child so it was pushed to the 7th. I had to cancel again due to bleeding so it was pushed back 7 days to the 14th. I was still bleeding for the 3rd appt so the receptionist cancelled with no further appt booked. The bleeding stopped 19th/20th. Then on the 25th I start bleeding again and have been since. Merry Christmas to me!

Had a telephone GP appt today as they’re not doing F2F appts between Xmas and NY. He was shocked it has been going on so long and said I need a F2F with a female GP for a cervix check and he is referring me to gynecologist. I’ve just to wait on both appts at this point.

Am I being dramatic here googling everything? I was looking at the forum and saw people posting about the wait times in Scotland and I am shocked at how long appts and results take.

His reaction when I said 4-6 months has spooked me.

Any advice would be much appreciated :slight_smile:

Hi Stacy

Just noticed you haven’t had any replies yet. How are you getting on?

There could be a number of reasons for your symptoms so try not to jump to worst case conclusions. Easy to say but try and resist the temptation to self diagnose with Google - it’ll just make you more anxious.

You’ve done the right thing in contacting your GP and hopefully you’ll get a gynae appointment soon. Have you manged to see a female GP for a cervix check yet?

x

Thanks Jazza,